PIN IT

5/07/2010

Chelsea's LAW Bill 1844 Please Support

Chelsea’s Law goes to next step, appropriations committee



http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/09-10/bill/asm/ab_1801-1850/ab_1844_cfa_20100419_102425_asm_comm.html



"Chelsea's Law" Bill 1844 is in ASB committee.



I encourage you to please review that this is approved in the next stage to becoming a law.



I live on the border of Laguna Niguel and Laguna Beach. When I look at the Megan's law website maintained by the state of California I see 12 persons registered in Laguna Niguel and 16 in Laguna Beach. (one is missing i.e: no photograph and no known address since 1989)

The serious error is this: the City of Laguna Beach police department is monitoring 33 registrants, a few of whom are homeless, and three are off the radar. While the City of Laguna Niguel does not have it's own police department the Orange County Sheriff is monitoring 19 persons for Laguna Niguel. In my own neighborhood two registrants appear to be living too close to an elementary school.

http://www.meganslaw.ca.gov/search.aspx


The system we have is not very accurate. Human beings can move about you can see that today there must be tighter control of the location of these dangerous predators. They gave up their right to go to a public park or show up at an elementary school when they did the crime.



Felipe Fuentes - Chair Dem-39 (916) 319-2039 Assemblymember.Fuentes@assembly.ca.gov

Connie Conway - Vice Chair Rep-34 (916) 319-2034 Assemblymember.Conway@assembly.ca.gov

Tom Ammiano Dem-13 (916) 319-2013 Assemblymember.Ammiano@assembly.ca.gov

Steven Bradfordd Dem-51 (916) 319-2051 Assemblymember.Bradford@assembly.ca.gov

Charles M. Calderon Dem-58 (916) 319-2058 Assemblymember.Calderon@assembly.ca.gov

Joe Coto Dem-23 (916) 319-2023 Assemblymember.coto@assembly.ca.gov

Mike Davis Dem-48 (916) 319-2048 Assemblymember.Davis@assembly.ca.gov

Kevin de Leon Dem-45 (916) 319-2045 Assemblymember.deLeon@assembly.ca.gov

Isadore Hall III Dem-52 (916) 319-2052 Assemblymember.Hall@assembly.ca.gov

Diane L. Harkey Rep-73 916) 319-2073 Assemblymember.Harkey@assembly.ca.gov


Jeff Miller Rep-71 (916) 319-2071 Assemblymember.Miller@assembly.ca.gov

Jim Nielsen Rep-2 (916) 319-2002 Assemblymember.Nielsen@assembly.ca.gov

Chris Norby Rep-72 (916) 319-2072 Assemblymember.Norby@assembly.ca.gov

Nancy Skinner Dem-14 (916) 319-2014 Assemblymember.Skinner@assembly.ca.gov

Jose Solorio Dem-69 (916) 319-2069 Assemblymember.Solorio@assembly.ca.gov

Tom Torlakson Dem-11 (916) 319-2011 Assemblymember.Torlakson@assembly.ca.gov

Alberto Torrico Dem-20 (916) 319-2020 Assemblymember.torrico@assembly.ca.gov




Bill 1844 proposes:



Life imprisonment without the possibility of parole for forcible sex crimes against children under 18 when aggravating circumstances exist. The type of aggravating circumstances that would require the harshest sentence depends on the age of the victim. Some aggravating circumstances include physical harm, kidnapping, torture and use of a weapon.

• Where no aggravating circumstances exist, penalties would double for certain sex crimes, depending on the age of the victim. For example, the new prison sentence would range from 6 to 16 years for forcible sex crimes against children under 14.

• Registered sex offenders would be subject to misdemeanor charges and possible parole revocation if found in a park where children regularly gather — unless prior permission had been granted by the park administrator or parole agent.

• Parole terms would be doubled to 10 years for a forcible sex crime, regardless of the age of the victim.

• Those convicted of a sex crime against a child under 14 would be on lifetime parole, requiring constant supervision and a global positioning system tracker.

Please sign the petition for additional signatures to show your support

No comments:

Post a Comment